Self-employed or Unemployed?

WARNING: HIGHLY CONFUSING!

Please don’t expect any clarity from this post,because the writer HERSELF, is currently under the state of extreme ambiguity. Char!

Due to my self-inflicted dilemma,I’d like to write down the pros and cons of working as a freelancer, with the hope of shedding light into my highly caffeinated,stumbling and mumbling mind. Lez begin, shall we?

not my photo

not my photo

Cons

1. Finances

No guaranteed and consistent income. Since you’re a freelancer, you’re the only one who will generate income for yourself. Unlike when you are an employee, all you have to do is to show up, do your job and happily wait for the 15th or 30th day of the month to get your hard-earned cash. That being said, as a freelancer you have to be responsible of your own cash flow because you don’t when the next project will be.

2. Stability

As mentioned above, you are uncertain as to when your next project will be, so it’s up to you on how you will market yourself to earn more clients which in turn give you continuous projects.

3. Benefits

No paid vacation and sick leave, no more 13th month pay, no more company issued health card and no more double pay during holidays. Can I also add that all the cost for office supplies will be coming out of your own pocket? Yes, no more free bond paper, free pens, free table, free chair, free office place etc. Also, no more free water, free electricity (AC all day?!), free coffee and most importantly, no more INTERNET!!! You also have to pay for your own SSS contribution, Phil health, PAG-IBIG and Tax. WHEW!

4. Managing your own business.

Everything is on you. You need to be good enough to market yourself because if you don’t, then bye bye projects. Every client is considered as a calling card, thus you have to give your best shot.

Personally, I hate collection. As much as possible, I don’t want to talk about money, but when you are a freelancer you must know how to ask for your rate, remind your clients for the payment due date and dispute any discrepancy. Even when it’s so awkward-i-don’t-want-to-talk-about-money situation. Remember, all expenses are paid by YOU and no one else will help you with the finances.

Pros

1. You’re in control of your time

You can choose to work at any time of the day. Thus, you can spread all your activities based on your own timetable. For me, this is the best part of being a freelancer because I want to be able to spend more time in serving God. I am guilty of not being able to attend some church activities because I’m tied to my office desk. I also want to spend more time with my family and friends. I want to do more for myself. Exercise,cook good food, organize and decorate my place, read and just simply breathe.

2. You get to choose where you work.

These days, commute to work is so exhausting. Commuting itself gives so much stress and wastes so much time and energy. When you work at home, you can work while wearing your favorite pajamas and just save your time and energy for more important tasks. If you love to travel,you can still do your job as long as you have the things that you need to be able to fulfill your work.

3. Freedom of working on the things you love.

I also love love love this reason.You get to choose WHAT job you want to do. I get more motivated with the kind of job I do than the money being paid to me. I think that’s what you call intrinsic motivation. I find joy from what I do than what I get from what I do. For me, that is a much more sustainable source of motivation than extrinsic motivation.

4. You work for yourself

You negotiate your own terms, regarding timing, pay and location. When you do great on a project, it’s you who will get the credit and not the company which will just give you a portion of what you should be getting. You have a chance to introduce your own style based on your values and beliefs.

5. There’s a potential to earn more

That’s if and only if, you get to gain more clients because of your hard work and dedication. You are your own boss so you can negotiate for your own rate which is typically higher than what you’ll earn when you’re an employee.

I think freelancing offers so much potentials in earning more, working based on your own availability and doing the things that you believe in. However, everything has its ups and downs. If you are willing to put more time and effort in building your own name in your field of choice. If you are willing to do maybe not all, but most of the work. If you are willing to risk the security and stability of your employment. If you are willing to discipline yourself and avoid procrastination which can trap you due to the ” feeling of more time available.” If you are willing to work hard when multiple projects are available and save as much as you can to help you get by during the “dry season.” Then I think freelancing is a good idea.

entrepreneur-meme-main (1)

Leave a Reply

