Living for others

image

You are so much more than just a pretty face:) Truly there are so many adjectives you can associate yourself with, than just being hot,pretty and famous.
“Above all, she was very clear, that nothing would mean anything if I didn’t live a life of use to others. And I dint know what that meant for a long time. And I came into this business young and worried about my own experiences, and my own pain, and it was only when I began to travel and look and live beyond my home did I understand my own responsibility to others. And when I met survivors of war and famine and rape, I learned what life is like for most people in this world. And how fortunate I was to have food to eat, roof over my head, a safe place to live, and the joy of having my family safe and healthy. And I realized how sheltered I had been. And I was determined to never be that way again. We are all, every one in this room, so fortunate. I have never understood why some people are lucky enough to be born with a chance that I had – to have this path in life, and why across the world, there’s a woman just like me, with the same abilities, and the same desires, same work ethic and love for her family, who would most likely make better films and better speeches, only she sits in a refugee camp, and she has no voice. She worries about what her children will eat, how to keep them safe, and if they’ll ever be allowed to return home. I don’t know why this is my life, and that’s hers. I don’t understand that, but I will do as my mother asked, and I will do the best I can with this life to be of use.” -Angelina Jolie 

Leave a Reply

