Celebrities can be frugal too!

I’m so inspired and happy to know that even celebrities know how to value money despite of how much money they make. As I always think, just because you have money doesn’t mean you’ll have to splurge! It doesn’t follow that way! No no no no! We have to be wise and stop being a victim of lifestyle inflation.


1. Jay Leno

“When I was a kid, I had two jobs,” wrote Leno. “I worked at a Ford dealership and at a McDonald’s. I’d spend the money from one job and save the money from the other. That’s still the way I am now. I live on the money I make as a comedian, and I put all the TV money in the bank. I’ve never spent a dime of TV money—ever.”

Image

2. Tobey Maguire

Thanks to three ‘Spider Man’ mega-hits which made Tobey Maguire’s valuation jump up to $26 million a picture, he still is usually snapped wearing lived-in t-shirts and jeans. “You know those Lotto winners, who win big and blow through all that money? That would never happen to me,” says Maguire. He credits his poverty-stricken childhood as the impetus for his quest for financial security. “I just never wanted to put myself in the position where my spending was so huge that I had to keep making movie after movie.

Image

3. Queen Elizabeth

While most Royal families may often be seen spending their their money on some luxurious and expensive things, Queen is frequently alluded by the British tabloids for her passion for turning-off the lights around Buckingham Palace.

Image

4. Vincent Kartheiser

He lives in a one-bedroom Hollywood apartment and takes public transportation.

The “Mad Men” actor told The New York Times in 2010 he prefers to travel mass transit as opposed to a car.

“It’s wonderful,” said Kartheiser. “Instead of driving and being stressed out about traffic, you can work your scene, you can do your exercises or whatever on the bus.”

Image

5. Sarah Michelle Gellar

actress told Self magazine she and husband Freddie Prinze Jr. see no need to buy items full price.

“We shop at Whole Foods, but we ask which fish is on sale,” said Gellar. “On sale doesn’t mean it’s bad! It probably just means it’s over caught. And I clip coupons all the time. Why should you pay more for something that someone else is paying less for?”

Image

6. Tyra Banks

 “I am frugal. I’ve always been this way,” Banks told The New York Times. “When I was young, my mom would give me my allowance, and I’d peel off a little each week and have some to spare.” Despite her net worth of $75 million, Tyra Banks is known for her frugal spending. “I’ll ask my accountant if I can afford something, and he’ll say, ‘What are you talking about?’” she told Forbes magazine. As Banks is a world renowned supermodel, TV producer and host, we might ask her the same question–Tyra Banks can afford anything she wants.

Despite her wealth, Banks is a master of money saving. When moving into her show’s new office, she hated the carpet, but she decided that replacing all the carpeting was too expensive. Instead, she painted the walls to match her vision for the room, designing the color scheme so she could leave the carpet as is. She may be the queen of “smizing”—a Tyra term for smiling with the eyes—but this is one model who’s pretty serious about saving.

She’s also more interested in what’s on her than designing her own outfits. She tends to wear very simple clothes and doesn’t chase designer trends.

 Many of Bank’s money saving techniques are more Middle America than Hollywood. Banks stockpiles soaps and to use in her own bathroom. Her mother was interviewed about her daughter’s shampoos from hotels she stays in, and she brings them home unusually frugal nature and told a story of finding Banks in the kitchen after a meal with friends, picking leftover meat off of chicken wings to use in an omelet the next day.

The most startling fact about Tyra Banks may be that she doesn’t use a Blackberry or iPhone to track her life. She has a regular paper notebook with different tabs for the multiple people and projects she’s involved with professionally. She carries it with her everywhere and takes notes by hand. When she sits down to meet with someone about a project, she flips to their page in the book. She says her handwriting has been getting tinier and tinier to save paper. If Banks, who makes $18 million a year, can live without extra gadgets, so can we.

Image

7 . Jennie Garth

told Access Hollywood when it’s time for a new school year, she’ll try to save money by finding ways to reinvent her kids’ old attire.

“We usually buy new things that can be mixed and matched with their existing wardrobe,” said Garth. “Back-to-school is a great time to clean out their closets, and anything outgrown we donate or [sell].”

Image

8. Mariska Hargitay

One of television’s highest-paid TV stars told MORE she always has money on the brain.

“I make a lot now, but I don’t feel that way, because I was poor and had no money for a lot longer than I’ve had it,” said Hargitay. “As an actor, if this show ends next year, then what? As an aging woman, then what? I’m saving money to live on, for the future. There are not that many roles for women, and I’ve been blessed with one of the great ones.”

Image

9. Sarah Jessica Parker

“Sex and the City” star told told Parade Magazine she refuses to spoil her son remembering she grew up with a family of eight on welfare.

“[My son] only wears hand-me-downs because I’ve got all these older nephews,” said Parker. “I think it’s incumbent on my husband and me to really stress and to show James Wilkie by example what it means to owe your community something and that he is not entitled to the benefits of our hard work.”

 Contrary to Parker’s character in ‘Sex and the City,’ the 43-year-old isn’t such a slave to fashion and in fact, she reportedly used to get sick from buyer’s remorse and return items the next day. Explaining that her family went through a time when they were on welfare, Parker says of her son, “Just because mommy and daddy are rich and famous, that doesn’t mean he should ride the gravy train through life … I want [James] to be normal.”

Image

10.Ashley Greene

The actress told Marie Claire that just because she was in the successful “Twilight” franchise it doesn’t mean the fame has gone to her head.

“I’m lucky because my dad taught me to be frugal and save,” said Greene. “And that’s important because I want to know that I don’t have to take an acting job for two or three years if I don’t want to and that I’ll still be able to make my house and car payments and buy food for my dogs.”

Image

11.Lady Gaga

tweeted to her followers in December about her bargain buys: “Why do people look at me like I’m crazy when I use coupons at grocery (stores) or try bargaining at retail, IM FROM NEW YORK WHERE IS THE SALE RACK.”

 “I didn’t get into this business for the money so I don’t spend a thing, but I am so happy. I am not bankrupt. Actually I spend no money at all.”

“It’s really funny because my manager often calls me and is like, ‘Did you lose your credit card? Did you cut it up? Did you lose it?’

“He is like, ‘Why don’t you spend any money?’ It’s because I don’t. I have not gone crazy.

“I live in the same apartment as I did six years ago and the bedroom is about the size of a small radio studio with the kitchen about four feet away.”

Image

12.Zooey Deschanel

One of the most money-conscious stars is Zooey Deschanel.

After the “New Girl” actress and ex-husband Ben Gibbard split last year, her finances were revealed in court documents obtained by TMZ.

Per month, the actress, who was worth nearly $3 million last January, will spend $2,000 on clothes, $800 in utilities, and $300 for phone and email. She even donates $1,500 a month to charity.

Image

13.Carmelo Anthony

Carmelo Anthony may be earning millions throughout his NBA career but if you didn’t know him you would be shocked to see him at the grocery store. According to Denver’s CBS Local, Anthony goes to the supermarket and makes sure he gets the newspapers to “tear out the coupons.”

Image

 

12.Roy Hibbert

This NBA star makes sure to stretch his dollars when he goes out to eat at a restaurant. “Going to restaurants, I make sure if I have a coupon, I use it.”

Image

13.Justin Timberlake

The 30-year-old star said he does not believe money can buy happiness.

He said: “I will say that I’m pretty frugal. I’ll probably shop for clothes for myself once a year, and that will last me for the rest of the year.

Image

14 Beyoncé

With the economy as jacked up as it is, you need to watch how you spend.  Even though she’s making a lot more than you and I, Beyoncé has revealed that she is not motivated by money, and says she is a “very frugal” spender.

Speaking to The Mirror, the singer and actress admitted that she prefers to invest her earnings rather than splash out on fancy items.

“Honestly, I’m very frugal. I haven’t bought a car since I was 16 or any diamonds since I was 17,” she said.

“I have a lot of property. I’ve invested my money and I don’t have to make any more, thank God, because I’m set. I’m now able really to be free and just do things

Image

15. Leonardo DiCaprio

The environmental activist tends to live on the cheap. “I don’t pay lavish expenses,” he has said. “I don’t fly private jets. I still have only one car, and that’s a Toyota Prius. I don’t spend money on a lot. Money is very important to me because it allows me the freedom to choose what I want to do as an actor and most importantly because I want to accumulate enough so that one day I can do something really great and beneficial for other people, for the environment or for children.”

Image

I hope this will inspire you guys! Have a wonderful Monday! Stay safe and dry! =D

Leave a Reply

